June 5, 2019

Carlota Barrera wins the Who’s on Next 2019 fashion award

Carlota Barrera is the new member of the Who’s on Next generation.

The Asturian designer, who trained in fashion design at IED Madrid, has been selected by a jury of experts chaired by French designer Jean Paul Gaultier to be the winner of the 8th edition of the international competition of the lifestyle magazine Vogue.

The competition is the biggest award in Spanish fashion as it entails a prize of 100,000 euros provided by Inditex, which has supported the initiative from its first edition. In 2019, Who’s on Next also enjoyed the collaboration of Huawei. An ode to talent in the national fashion scene, offering new designers the opportunity to give greater visibility to their firms.

Carlota Barrera, which entered the competition for the first time, is a firm that aims to redefine the concept of men’s fashion by exploring through textures, silhouettes and colours; re-imagining the concept of men’s fashion. Its The matador and the fisherman collection was a resounding success at the last edition of the Mercedes Benz Fashion Week.

An agender aesthetic where craftsmanship, tradition and sustainability are the unifying threads of each and every one of the designs, has positioned Carlota Barrera on the list of exponents of the renewed Made in Spain. Creations that drip with originality and are committed to sustainability, responsible consumption and ethical fashion.

After receiving the Who’s on Next award, Carlota needs to define the business model she wants for her brand and the Vogue team will be her coach. The firm Carlota Barrera is already part of Spanish fashion creators’ association ACME and its designs will be shown in the next edition of the MBFW with Vogue Spain as mentor.

Who’s on Next has become a showcase for Spanish talent and the talent that emerges from the classrooms of IED Madrid. Recognised designers such as Maria Ke Fisherman and Moisés Nieto, students of the school of fashion at the Istituto Europeo di Design, form part of the list of competition winners.